On Getting Dressed (at 5 a.m.)

Written by Sarah

So as I wrote here earlier in the week, I’ve changed jobs with my company and am working Monday through Friday at 6 am. I love my new job, and I love my schedule. It couldn’t be more perfect for us.

However, I found out about the change right when I’d finished writing about how getting dressed in the morning made such a difference for me. When I got home, I started thinking about living out this challenge (like there’s really another option besides getting dressed to go to work?) in the wee dark hours of the morning. Yep, I get up at 4:45. Or, my alarm is set for 4:45. Sometimes I get up a bit closer to 5. That doesn’t leave a whole lot of time for getting ready. My new job can be kind of messy, too, so I’m not really “getting dressed” in the sense of having a fun, cute outfit. I have to think about staying warm and wearing the most practical clothes for my job.

CAM00076

After a week of working out a routine, I decided to challenge myself to create an outfit and fix my hair and put on makeup every morning. So far, it’s definitely been challenging! I try to get the clothes picked the night before, so that I just have to put them on, and then I fix my hair and makeup. If there’s one thing I’ve learned in my relatively vast experience with leaving for work at 5:30 am, it’s that you should do everything you can the night before. Pack lunch? Check. Program coffee maker to make coffee at 4:30? Check. I have always showered at night (for some reason the sound doesn’t wake the girls at night, but will wake them in the morning) so that’s another thing out of the way.

But back to the clothes. I’m sure I’m not the only one who has to think warm and practical these days, so here goes: I typically wear jeans, a tank top, a shirt, and a fleece top or sweater over it. I pair that with warm socks and practical shoes (my current favorites are some Keens that look a lot like my beloved Converse Chuck Taylors, but have a lot more support and cushioning). Layering is key to comfort. Some days, like today, I have to be outside and so I wear my jacket over all the above most of the day. I try to always wear earrings – they’re a nice, feminine touch that helps me feel a bit more “dressed”. And makeup makes a big difference too. Taking a few minutes to plan ahead is essential, but even when every minute counts, I still don’t regret spending time getting dressed.

How’s the Getting Dressed Challenge going for you?

2 thoughts on “On Getting Dressed (at 5 a.m.)

Leave a Reply

